Become a Member
Interactive Tools
Filter by Demographic
Children Adolescents Adults
Filter by Topic
Anger Anxiety Art CBT Communication DBT Depression Education Emotions Goals Grief Parenting and Behavior Positive Psychology Relationships Relaxation Self-Esteem Stress Substance Use Values

My Stages of Grief

Help your clients process their loss by thinking about how they have related to each of the Kübler-Ross's five stages of grief (denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance). If your client feels that they have gotten stuck in one of the stages, encourage them to explore this point more deeply.

The Kübler-Ross model is no longer supported by science as a valid model or predictor of grief. Not everyone experiences every stage of the Kübler-Ross model, and the stages don't necessarily occur in order. Imagine the stages as a very loose depiction of what a person may experience during grief. However, clients can often identify with these stages, which provides a valuable tool for self-understanding and introspection.

Pair this worksheet with the Stages of Grief printout if you would like to include a psychoeducational component.

Standard Download

Premium Download
My Stages of Grief Preview


1. Kübler-Ross, E. (2009). On death and dying: What the dying have to teach doctors, nurses, clergy and their own families. Taylor & Francis.

loading animation